You Don’t Have to Get Good to Get Started, You Have to Get Started to Get Good!

“You don’t have to get good to get started, you have to get started to get good.” I love that quote.  I’m not sure who said it first but I heard it first from Leadership expert Orrin Woodward (Listed at #20 in Inc. Magazine’s Top 50 Leadership and management Experts) The truth of this statement rings louder the more people I talk to.

Orrin Woodward’s story alone should be enough to prove the statement true. But let’s not stop there. Chris Brady (inc.com’s #39 expert) who was mentored by Oriin Woodward has an equally impressive story. Having heard their story by them on audio or in person, I can only describe what they have said. Each of them started with a dream of a better life, an idea that drove them and many others to accomplish massive success. That success did not come easy however, Because neither Orrin or Chris had any decent people skills to talk about. Both were quintessential engineers with pocket protectors and color coordinated pens. Orrin quotes what someone wrote in his high school yearbook “arguing, arguing, early and late. If a line were crooked, he’d argue it straight.” Does that sound like a man born to lead thousands of people? No way!

When I hear men like Orrin Woodward, Chris Brady, Dan Hawkins, Bill Lewis, George Guzzardo, Tim Marks, Claude Hamilton (and of course their amazing wives) and so many other incredible leaders within the Life Leadership organization tell their stories of dream and struggle toward victory, I see hope. I see hope like thousands of other leaders across the country and across the world because I know that I can achieve my goals and dreams just like they have. So can you. As the old saying goes “The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.”

_67879706_start_thinkstock

The more I learn, the more I realize I need to learn. I don’t have all the answers, for that matter I may not have any answers. The one thing I do know is that we all have the ability to learn. We can and we do every single day! The real question for you is this: Are you going to make a decision to get started doing whatever you know in your heart you should be starting or are you going to complain about not being smart enough or talented enough or whatever else, enough? The choice is yours!

You can live in fear or you can decide to get started and learn what you need to learn along the way. Think about the first time you did anything. -Swing a bat at a baseball -Tie your shoes -crack an egg -read, write or spell How many things did you ever do perfectly the first time and every time thereafter? None! You have to learn, You have to practice, You have to seek help from others who have done it before. DON’T LET FEAR HOLD YOU BACK! Get into action today. You can do it! You can do it because you can learn. GO! DO! BECOME! Achieve your dreams! Follow your passions! Don’t forget to ask for help along the way.

You have to get started to get good!

So DECIDE to START today!

Philip Brittain

philip@life-leadershift.com

Profile pic square

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Please comment below